THE PERFECT WAVE

WOOD AND WATER - GO TOGETHER.
APPRENTICE CARPENTERS BUILD VENEER KITEBOARDS.
THEY'RE REALLY FAST, SAYS THE PROFESSIONAL. AND LOOK GREAT, WE ADD.






Learning and having fun at the same time: Craftsmanship meets trend sport
Rapid trips across the water - plenty of action and fun – are the characteristics of the new trend sport, kiteboarding. Standing on a board, the kiteboarder is pulled across the water by a kite. Although the origins of kiteboarding reach back to the early 19th century, kiteboarding has only developed into a sport for the masses over the past ten years. There are already more than 500,000 kiteboarders worldwide.




Kiteboards can also be used without kits, on wakeboard facilities. Instead of a kite, the kiteboarder is pulled across the water by a cable winch. The wakeboard facilities frequently also have jumps, where expert boarders can perform breathtaking, acrobatic jumps or even looping.

Some kiteboarders are not only passionate water surfers but are also keen DIY enthusiasts and make their own boards. Self-built kiteboards are frequently made of very thin layers of wood (veneers). If several types of veneer are combined, for example, light and dark-coloured veneers, boards can be created with a unique look. It's not that easy to build your own first board. But with professional support and working in a group, building a kiteboard becomes a real experience.









INTERVIEW WITH ACHIM ALLRICH,
HEAD OF THE "KITEBOARD PROJECT" WORKSHOP


Interview




DESIGNER
Achim Allrich

Kiteboards: Veneer glued on Poplar plywood, individually airbrushed and varnished.

A project of the Cologne Chamber of Crafts for enthusiastic water-sportspersons who are apprentice carpenters in the Chamber District of Cologne.

www.projekt-kiteboard.de
Since 2008, Achim Allrich, training manager at the Chamber of Crafts in Cologne, has offered a "Kiteboard Project" with which young trainee craftspersons are given the opportunity to design and produce their own kiteboard. Allrich founded the workshop not only because of his passion for the material veneer but also his equal passion for building kiteboards.

Each course is followed by the practical test. All the participants meet at a wakeboard facility near Cologne to water surf with their kiteboards.

DIE PERFEKTE WELLE

HOLZ UND WASSER - DAS PASST.
TISCHLERAZUBIS BAUEN KITEBOARDS AUS FURNIER.
DIE GEHEN RICHTIG AB, SAGT DER PROFI. UND SEHEN KLASSE AUS, SAGEN WIR.






Was gelernt und Spaß dabei: Handwerkskunst trifft auf Trendsport
Rasante Fahrten übers Wasser voller Aktion und Spaß – das zeichnet die neu Trendsportart Kiteboarden aus. Auf einem Brett stehend wird der Kiteboarder von einem Lenkdrachen (eng. „Kite“) übers Wasser gezogen. Obwohl die Ursprünge des Kiteboardens (zu deutsch „Lenkdrachensegelns“) bis ins frühe 19. Jahrhundert zurückgehen, hat sich Kiteboarden erst in den letzten zehn Jahren zum Massensport entwickelt. Weltweit gibt es schon über 500.000 Kiteboarder.




Kitebaords können auch ohne Drachen auf Wakeboardanlagen genutzt werden. Anstatt von einem Drachen wird der Kiteboarder von einer Seilwinde übers Wasser gezogen. Häufig gibt es auf den Wakeboardanlagen auch Sprungschanzen, wo geübte Fahrer atemberaubende, akrobatische Sprünge oder gar Loopings vollführen können.

Mancher Kiteboarder ist aber nicht nur ein passionierter Wassersurfer, sondern auch ein leidenschaftlicher Tüftler, der sein Board selbst anfertigt. Selbstgebaute Kitebaords bestehen häufig aus sehr dünnen Holzschichten (Furnieren). Werden mehrere Furnierarten, beispielsweise helle und dunkle Furnierarten, mit einander kombiniert, lassen sich Bretter mit einem einzigartigen Look kreieren. Das erste eigene Board zu bauen, ist nicht ganz einfach. Aber mit professioneller Unterstützung und in einer Gruppe wird der Bau des Kiteboards zu einem echten Erlebnis.









INTERVIEW MIT ACHIM ALLRICH,
LEITER DES WORKSHOPS „PROJEKT KITEBOARD“


Interview




DESIGNER
Achim Allrich

Kiteboards: Furnier auf Pappelsperrholz verleimt, individuell airbrushed und lackiert.

Ein Projekt der Handwerkskammer Köln für wassersportbegeisterte Tischler der Mittelstufe im Kammerbezirk Köln

www.projekt-kiteboard.de
Seit 2008 bietet Achim Allrich, Ausbildungsleiter bei der Handwerkskammer zu Köln, mit dem „Projekt Kiteboard“ jungen Nachwuchshandwerkern die Möglichkeit, ihr eigenes Kiteboard zu produzieren und design. Begründet hat Allrich den Workshop gleichermaßen aus seiner Passion für den Werkstoff Furnier und fürs Kiteboardbauen.

Am Ende jedes Lehrgangs steht der Praxistest. Dann treffen sich alle Teilnehmer mit ihren Kiteboards an einer Wakeboardanlage in der Nähe von Köln zum Wassersurfen.